The first girls basketball game at Union County is shaping up nicely much to the delight of organizer Scott Gray.

Six weeks ago Gray, who is the 10th girls basketball coach at Union County, sent out requests to everyone he knew asking for support of a Girls Basketball Alumni game in Union County. The response has been overwhelmingly great. Union County girls basketball alumni are proud of the contributions they have made to the program for the past 47 years and will be on the court in force at 3 p.m. on Saturday, Dec. 7.

Not only players, but coaches as well will join the Girls Basketball Alumni celebration.

“Union County is proud of its basketball tradition and the importance of sharing the past with current players and fans,” Gray said. 

Alumni players and coaches will receive commemorative T-shirts and admission to the varsity game with Tala-wanda where they will be recognized between the JV and varsity games. 
Admission to the alumni game is free for spectators but donations will be accepted at the door. All proceeds go toward the Union County Girls’ Basketball Program.    

As of early Monday, Nov. 25, the following alumni will participate in the UCHS Girls Basketball Alumni Game.

Pat Bostick-1975, Debbie Dowler-1976, Darla Walton Edling, Gay Rogers Stevens, Lynn Stanley Browning-1977, Sharon Morrison McClean-1977; Tracy Ferris,  Monica Buttery Sweeney, Kim Smith, Tina Martin Welborn, Kim Blacker Walton-1978; Kathy Wooley Brooker, Billie Jo Moore Toney-1979; Debbie Smith, Deb Powers-1980; Vanita Pike Alcorn, Lisa Dunaway, Darla Moore Baker, Lisa Risch Poe-1981; Vicky Moore Pfledderer, Janell Sherer-1982; Julie Schwegman Perry-1983; Carrie Revalee Treadway-1990; Shannon Curry-1991;  Melanie Hensley Watterson, Kelly Wilson Beall-1994; Sarah McCashland Lynch-1995; Beth Richardson Bruns-1996; Katie Maddock-1998; Jen Curry Hisle-1999; Jessica Scaggs Logue-2000; Emily Dare-2001; Myra Gulley Duritsch-2006; Molly Gulley Nocton-2006; Darah Finch-2007; Jordan Perry Molina, Toni Lee, Kristin Walton-2009; Emily
(See “ALUMNI,” Page 4) Goecke Counts-2015; Madeline Fulton, Sammie Elleman, Tanner Henry, Dani Franklin Dathe. Madison Walters-2016; Sierra Dowler-2017; Rainey Shepler, Fayth Hill-2019.